What are you using Discord?

Discussion in 'Role-Play Discussion' started by Jax, Jan 9, 2018.

1. Jax

Jax Newcomer Game Owner

So, I am a bit old school when it comes to things. I have been roleplaying since the 1990s, so I am a little stuck in my ways sometimes. I have been noticing a new trend in site based chat clients, and that is the rapid switch from Cbox to Discord. Everyone keeps saying that it is better that Cbox, but I was wondering if people could tell me why? Are there features that Discord has that Cbox doesn't?

2. Shriker
    Magical

Shriker Shadowlack Owner RPGfix Admin Patron Game Owner

There's some discussion about Discord already here, if you'd like to look through it: https://www.rpgfix.com/threads/chat-boxes.2020/

For me personally, it's the ability to set up automated roles, use integrations (RPGfix can send messages directly to Discord), PC & mobile clients, the ability to have multiple channels to split up topics, and also voice chat.

3. SithLordOfSnark

SithLordOfSnark Resident Game Owner

I like the fact that you can have channels. You can do this with C-Box too, but only if you pay for Pro. Discord is entirely free.

4. Death Kitten
    Kickass

Death Kitten Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Game Owner

The biggest thing for me is that most of my online time is via mobile, and cbox on mobile is unusable for me. Unreliable notifications, frustrating interface in the mobile browser. Where I can catch cbox users with titan embed for discord, while making it so I can chat via my phone almost any time.

It basically allows me to better monitor and admin my chat from mobile. Everything else is frosting on the cupcake.

Archaeon likes this.
  5. TurnABlindEyeEDDY
    Arthritic

TurnABlindEyeEDDY Newcomer Game Owner