Self-hosting?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by Featherstone, Jul 19, 2016.

1. Featherstone

Featherstone Resident Game Owner

First of all, I apologize for the dumb question. I am a newb on technical matters, but trying to learn on the field.

So, what I need to know is what it takes to self-host a board. Do you need to own a server? Say I use a free option like Vanilla or MyBB - do I need anything else (other than a computer and hard work ^^)?

2. Collapsible Myth
    Creative

Collapsible Myth Resident Game Owner

Several hosting services offer a quick install option for MyBB. Don't need to worry about creating a database, user, permissions and uploading the files and installing it yourself. You can try out some with a small low-priced plan at first and grow from there.

3. Death Kitten
    Kickass

Death Kitten Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Game Owner

I currently use Dreamhost, and their shared hosting works great. They have one click installs of a lot of cms, and I think myBB is the forum software they offer. Don't quote me on that though, I don't use forums. I have used their one click install for wiki and WordPress though, super easy.

Other awesome things at Dreamhost? They automate Let's Encrypt's free ssl certificates, their shared hosting package lets you host unlimited* domains/subdomains/email addresses, and include a free domain registration with your hosting.

* by unlimited, they mean they don't keep track or worry about your disk space and bandwidth usage as long as you're not negatively affecting other sites on your shared server. 99.9% of forum rp sites don't even come close to having a problem with this, and those that do are usually because of a run away plug-in/mod on their forum.

4. Nano
    Anime Lover

Nano Newcomer Game Owner