What do you look for in a forum RPG?

Discussion in 'Role-Play Discussion' started by Miss Astro, Dec 17, 2014.

1. Miss Astro

Miss Astro Newcomer

I'm just starting out and I am trying to attract new members. My site is an original world and storyline so I don't have a fandom to appeal to. I was wondering what makes you join a site in the first place? What are the key things that you look for?

Thank you xx

2. SithLordOfSnark

SithLordOfSnark Resident Game Owner

A friendly community. Simple as that. If I feel like I'm going to be left out in the cold and nobody is going to post with me, I won't even consider joining.

Corinthian, Elena and Miss Astro like this.
  3. Skysails

Skysails Newcomer Game Owner

I second the friendly community. I also really like good clean boards. Nothing too fancy with complex coding. I like things to look like they have some sort of order to them, and frankly simple rules. We're here to play games not follow directions.

Miss Astro likes this.
  4. Elena
    Arthritic

Elena Resident Game Owner

First of all, I need the story to inspire me to further it. If it doesn't, I can't join. There are several sites I love, which stories I am reading from time to time. The administrators are my friends in most cases, I discuss with them their story, but they know I won't join their site... just because it doesn't inspire me to further the story myself.

The second is a welcoming community, and the activity level. If it is too slow, with no quicker people at all, or with high turnover, I might not be able to write a coherent story and my interest is fading then.

5. Marah

Marah Newcomer